Get Adobe Flash Player


2017 Annual General Meeting

The AGM 2017 will be held on June 19th 2017 (traditionally always 1 day before the start of the CWIEME exhibition June 20th to June 22th )

2016 Annual General Meeting

The 2016 Annual General Meeting took place in Berlin on May 8th ,2016 at the Steigenberger Hotel. The attendance by our members was very good and we could welcome 2 new members.

The keynote speech was held by Professor Joe Howe from the University of Chester / UK on “Global Energy Challenges and Demands”. His speech was giving our members an insight into the future forecasts of the different types of energy. The Thornton Institute of the University is known for its expertise in this field. The presentation can be found in the members section.

John-Neal- Award 2016

Annika-Sophie Rempe from the Technical University of München (TUM) is the 2016 John-Neal Award winner. She presented her paper: “Characterisation of Polymer-Filler-Interactions for a Model Nanocomposite Based on Silicone Rubber”. A synopsis of her presentation is available in the members section of this website.

Annika-Sophie Rempe receiving the John Neal Award 2016 at the AGM from Andrew Turner (Chairman EEIM) and Mike Chapman (Award Committee Chairman)

Axalta Coating Systems joined EEIM

Axalta Coating Systems joined EEIM end of 2015. This will be another step forward for the polymers group to become a stakeholder group for our business segment.

New Officers of EEIM

Andrew Turner (Langtec Ltd. / UK) has been elected unanimously as the new Chairman of EEIM. He succeeds Patrick Veluzat who has been in this office for the past 3 years.
Armin Kahnert (Stockmeier/ D) was elected as the new Product Group Chairman for the Polymers Group (Resins, varnishes and compounds).All the other officers and the Secretary were reconfirmed in their office.

Keynote speech at the AGM 2015

Rainer Hinrichs-Rahlwes ( Chairman of the European Renewables Energy Federation) gave a remarkable insight into the
”Status and Trends in the Energy Economy in Europe and Globally”
His presentation is available in the members section.

New member VUKI

Shortly after the AGM 2015 VUKI from Bratislava/ Slovakia has decided to join EEIM as member of the Polymers group.

2015 John Neal Award

Karsten Backhaus from the Technical University of Dresden is the 2015 Award winner with his paper:
"Charge Carrier based Conductivity and Breakdown Model for Oil Paper Insulation under High DC Voltage".

2014 John Neal Award

The 2014 Award went to Michael Tenzer from TU Darmstadt for his paper “ New types of functionally filled polymers for HVDC insulators in gas-insulated systems”.

Michael Tenzer receives the 2014 John Neal Award from Michael Chapman (Award Committee Chairman) and Patrick Veluzat( EEIM Chairman)

The paper can be found here….. ...Tenzer John Neal Award

In Memorial of Tom Eland

Tom Eland from Attwater / UK passed away end of 2013.Tom has been active in various functions of our association, most to mention as Vice Chairman and member of the John Neal Award Committee.

EEIM Annual General Meeting 2013 in Berlin

As in previous years the EEIM members took the opportunity to meet in Berlin on the day before the start of the Coil Winding Exhibition.
This year’s event had a very good attendance with a number of new members being present for the first time.

New Officers of EEIM

During the Product group sessions Fabio Botta has been elected as the Chairman of the Polymers Group to succeed Dr. Ulrich Massen. There was no change to the other officers.

Keynote speech about the future of the Euro and the financial situation of the European Union

A very interesting keynote–speech was held by Claus Tigges , President of the Regional Office Berlin & Brandenburg of the Deutsche Bundesbank. The presentation title:
The European Debt Crisis - Where do we stand?

The presentation is available for members in the “Members only “section of our website.

John-Neal Award 2013- Presentation by the award winner

Sedat Adili from ETH Zürich presented the results of his award winning paper:
Theory and Application of Pulsed X-ray Induced Partial Discharge Measurements for HV-Equipment

The synopsis of this paper is available in the members section of this website.

EEIM John-Neal Award 2012 for Dr. Ivana Mladenovic

An official special event was held in February at the Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg to honour the achievements of Dr. Ivana Mladenovic and the Award winning paper. Dr. Jörg Langer, former Secretary of EEIM , attended this event on behalf of the Chairman.

From left to right: Professor Herold , Dr. Ivana Mladenovic, Dr. Jörg Langer, Priv. Dozent Dr. Weindl

The event had a very wide coverage by the local and scientific press.The work of Dr. Mladenovic was also mentioned in the latest edition (April 5,2013) of VDI Nachrichten .(the leading weekly German technical newspaper). A summary of the paper can be found here….. ...Mladenovic John Neal Award

EEIM Annual General Meeting on June 3, 2013 in Berlin

This year `s AGM will be held again at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Berlin on the day before the start of the Coil Winding Show on June 4, 2013.

EEIM Management Committee decides to publish a position paper regarding anhydride hardeners

The position paper of EEIM deals with anhydride hardeners, which are frequently used for applications in the electrical insulation industry. Any regulatory action could directly effect the business of our members. Two anhydrides have been added to the Candidate list for Authorisation because of their respiratory sensitizing classification. EEIM takes the position that the use of these anhydrides is safe provided that appropriate risk management measures are taken. The complete paper can be accessed here... ...Download

©2012 EEIM